Hello,

I'm planning to do a project which involoves a lot of GUI. Does anybody know whether there is any IDE available that supports a code wizard feature for C++? For eg in VB, we design the menus, frames, text labels, etc. and when we click on 'generate code', the basic code of the form file is generated automatically. Then the only thing we have to do is to define the event handling functions.

Is there any such feature available in case of C++? I'm a newbie to windows programming in C++, so I'm sorry if I've not mentioned some detail that is necessary.

Thanks in advance,
-Jishnu.

Recommended Answers

All 16 Replies

Visual Studio Express is free and will do the job. Here's a link.

So you're giving up on the Turbo C++ compiler at last? ;)

Ah! You remember that? Great. Yes, I'm fed up of that 'fossil' compiler. It is one of the many things that I have learnt from this community...

Thank you :)

Hey, I'm getting this error when I double-click on the setup file that I downloaded.

The VCSetup.EXE file is linked to missing export NTDLL.DLL:NtShutdownSystem

And then,

A device attached to system is not functioning

I searched for that .DLL file and it is there in the directory c:\windows\system.

Yes VC++ 2005 Express is free but it does not contain a code wizard that generates GUI code other than a bare shell with pure win32 api functions. It doesn't let you work with windows like VB does. If you want VB type wizards then Borland C++ builder is probably the best c++ tool.

What version of windows are you using? I'm using XP-home and it works fine for me?

If you want VB type wizards then Borland C++ builder is probably the best c++ tool.

I agree, but it isn't free, so that's why I didn't recommend it.

I agree, but it isn't free, so that's why I didn't recommend it.

Niek

Oh so you recommended something the OP can't use because its free?

commented: Whoops, sorry 'bout that +3
commented: Well said!! +2