Hi I am a newbie in C++. I need some help here for my homework. I tried all methods that I know but I just can't get it. =(

I need to design a staff information enquiry program which can display information of staff sequentially in staff database with the functions of forward one record, backward one record, go to the first record and go to the last record. The info of staff in the database includes name, gender, age, staff number, office phone number and office room number.

Other requirements:
I must have Base class to encase name, gender and age and a Derived class to encase staff number, office phone number and office room number.

-The database (text file) looks like this:

Dr Sean Kingston
M
f10000
B123
Ms Mandy Moore
F
f10001
BC2345
Mr Alexander Graham Bell
M
f10003
B234
Mr Thomas Alfa Edison
M
f10004
BD78910

- The code that I have written:
It displays the info successfully, but I dunno display the next record, the previous record as the number of characters in each field may differ. Do I have to open the file in binary mode? How do we do that? Sample code is appreciated. Thanks

#include <iostream>
#include <string>
#include <fstream>
using namespace std;

class Base
{
protected:
	string name;
	char gender;
	int age;
};

class Derived : public Base
{
protected:
	string staffno;
	int telpno;
	string roomno;
public:
	void enquiry (void);
};

void Derived::enquiry ()
{
	int n;
	fstream f;
	f.open("info.txt");
	while (1)
	{
		getline (f, name);
		f >> gender;
		f >> age;
		f >> staffno;
		f >> telpno;
		f >> roomno;

cout << "Name: " << name;
		cout << "\nGender: " << gender;
		cout << "\nAge: " << age;
		cout << "\nStaff No.: " << staffno;
		cout << "\nPhone No.: " << telpno;
		cout << "\nRoom No.: " << roomno << endl <<endl;

cout << "<1> previous \t <2> next \t <0> exit\n";
		cin >> n;

// I dunno what to do from here onwards..

}
	f.close();

}

void main ()
{	
	Derived staff;
	staff.enquiry();
}

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies