Hey guys, I'm new at this and was wondering if someone could help. I need to calculate the average amount of gallons used per km driven but I don't know how to do it. What do I need to include in my code(below) to include an average?
I'd appreciate any advice you could provide to me :)

#include <iostream>
    using namespace std;
int main()
{

double gallons;
    double average;// not used yet
    double distance;
    double distancegallon;

cout<<"Please enter the amount of  gallons used( or 0 to quit) "<<endl;
  	  cin>>gallons;

while(gallons != 0)
 		 {
		   cout<<"Please enter distance in KM"<<endl;
		   cin>>distance;

distancegallon = distance/gallon;

cout<<"KM/ Gallon is:"<<distancegallon<<endl;   

}		

return 0;
}

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

think about how would you calculate the average galles per k with pencil & paper. Given the distance and gallons its just simply average = distance/gallons If you want the average over several tanks of gas then sum up all the gas you bought then do the division. This is just 5th grade (or earlier) math.

think about how would you calculate the average galles per k with pencil & paper. Given the distance and gallons its just simply average = distance/gallons If you want the average over several tanks of gas then sum up all the gas you bought then do the division. This is just 5th grade (or earlier) math.

Thanks for replying, I know about the average.. I just don't know how to get the sum of all the tanks used - what code to use ?

>> while(gallons != 0)
That while statement won't work because you never change the value of gallons, that makes it an infinite loop.

>> just don't know how to get the sum of all the tanks used
just sum them up as you enter them

int total = 0;
int gallons = 0;
do {
    cout << "Enter gallons\n";
    cin >> gallons
    cin.ignore(); // flush keyboard of the '\n' key
    total += gallons;
}while( gallons > 0);