as a beginner i try my hand to write different small codes to console application . but am having a prolbem here due to the fact that am not so aspect as yet. can some one help me write it well.

i want my code to output the name of day of the week when i enter a date . for example when i enter 23.12.1993. the computer should output it is a wednesday.

using System;
public class Daydemo
{
public static void Main()
{
int dt = ();
DateTime Dato = DateTime.Now;
dt = DateTime.Dato;

Console.WriteLine("The time is:"+dt);
}
}

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

Try this

DateTime myDate = new DateTime(1993, 12, 23);
   Console.WriteLine(string.Format("The day in letters is :{0}",myDate.DayOfWeek.ToString()));
            Console.Read();

wow ja, that was helpfull, i could see my mistakes and what i have to be awware of.

But what if i now want to polish this code to be more dymamic , for example to ask the user to enter any date and the output give the answer to be to the user " the date you entered was on tuesday or wednesday and so forth.

Console.WriteLine(" enter your date")

then i expected the computer to do the calculations.
thanks

try
{
     Console.WriteLine("Insert a date:"); 
     string strDate = Console.ReadLine();

DateTime myDate = Convert.ToDateTime(strDate );

Console.WriteLine(string.Format("The day in letters is :{0}",myDate.DayOfWeek.ToString()));

Console.Read();

}
catch(Exception)
{
       Console.WriteLine("Sorry that's not a valid date.");
}

thank you hollystyles

it worked so nice,
except that i have to set catch(exception ) as comment. then it worked.

thanks , i tried it with my birthday, so now i know which day i was born . wow, wow,

anyway can you explain to me what catch exception can do in that code.

except that i have to set catch(exception ) as comment.

What? C# is case sensitive the Exception class is with a capital E.