Hi everyone, I am new to this online forum. I am a software engineer residing in Singapore doing software development for a living for past 9 years. Only recently am I introduced to the wonders of ACE. It is such a pity the ACE framework is not part of the C++ standard else any decent C++ compiler would have those classes built in as compared to now I got to download separately and add on. My ACE newbie questions are as below. Would appreciate some ACE experts to help me here.

Qn 1. Can we use C++ STL and ACE classes interchangeably? Since STL is part of the C++ standard can I say I use a vector<ACE_Event_Handler *> or list<ACE_Reactor *> for e.g ?

Qn 2. Can I have a portable graceful shutdown technique for the server program? Most tutorials I found online use the signal handling technique. That is, a client admin program is executed by sending a SIGINT or some other signal to the server program to indicate a graceful shutdown procedure is to be executed. The signal concept will not work in Windows environment I presume?

My approach to get my server program graceful shutdown feature to be portable is to dedicate one extra port meant only for admin client. Once connect request is received on this extra port, it indicates to my server program it is time to perform graceful shutdown. This approach should work on both Unix and Windows environment.

class Server_Daemon {
public:
  int open(...) { //called by main program Step 1
    reactor_.open(10); //max. 10 handles
    workerPool_.open();
    workerPool_.activate(THR_LWP, 10); //pre-spawn 10 threads
  }
  int close(...) { //called by main program Step 3
    workerPool_.close();
    reactor_.close();
  }
  int run(...) { //called by main program Step 2
    ACE_NEW_RETURN(admin_acceptor_, AdminAccept_Handler(this), -1); //only ONE instance of AdminAccept_Handler will be instantiated
    reactor_.register_handler(admin_acceptor_,ACE_Event_Handler::ACCEPT_MASK);
    reactor_.run_reactor_event_loop();
  }