Hello there. I've been contemplating on this matter for sometime, and now I'm left stumped. I'm a college student taking a Java 2 course, and was given an assignment that i've nearly completed except one problem. The program description asks you to read from a binary file using the .readUTF(); class and then stick the information in their proper arrays. What is in the binary bit file is 10 peoples' names, their sex, and their 5 grade scores. An example of the binary file looks like the such: Marry James:F;50,60,100,90,80

Here's a small portion of my code that shows you how I've extracted the information.

do
     {

record = data_in.readUTF();
   int a = record.indexOf(' ',0);  // finds the number of which the first space is printed
   name1[cc] = record.substring(0,a); // puts in the string before the first space, where a reperesents the ending numeric value and 0 represents where the first letter begins.
   int b = record.indexOf(':',a);
   name2[cc] = record.substring(a,b);
   int c = record.indexOf(';',b);
   sex[cc] = record.substring(b+1,c);

JOptionPane.showMessageDialog(null,name1[cc]);
   JOptionPane.showMessageDialog(null,name2[cc]);
   JOptionPane.showMessageDialog(null,sex[cc]);

for (int aa=0;aa<5,aa++)
         {
      int d = record.indexOf(',',c+1);
      scores[cc][aa] = record.substring(c,d);

}

cc ++;

}
          while ( cc <10);