Hi,

I am new to VC++ programming. I need to create 2 forms and and collect the data that is input in the forms to a class. Now the forms are defined in the form1.h and form2.h files. I have a class "Railway_Input" in the main cpp file. The cpp file runs the form1 by the command

Application::Run(Ipform);
where Ipform is an object of the class for form1. The form2 class is called within the form1.h file.

I cannot access the Ipform->textBox->Text values in the main cpp file, using the Ipform object. As it complains that the attributes are private and I cant access it. I want to know if VC++ provides getter and setter for each of these properties(like textbox,radiobutton) ?If yes what are they called. I did not find a getText() function for textbox, so not sure what member function I should be looking for.

Another way of doing it is declaring the private variables public , which I do not think is right.
If the getter, setters are not provided I could write one for each of the form required elements.

Please let me know what I could do. Also please provide me some good books or links for VC++ programming.

Thanks

Recommended Answers

All 2 Replies

>I want to know if VC++ provides getter and setter
>for each of these properties(like textbox,radiobutton) ?
No, but it's trivial to write them yourself. You can also force generated controls to be public, but that's not a good practice.

@Narue
Thx for tht!!

@everyone
I do have a new problem though :( .

I am designing a project with two input forms. Now the data in the 2 forms is to be assigned into the class attributes of the class "Railway_Input" which is defined in the .cpp file. The main function looks as folllows. A form1.h file defines the class Form1.

int main(array<System::String ^> ^args)
{
    //Rail_Input RS;
    Form1^ Ipform = gcnew Form1();
    // Enabling Windows XP visual effects before any controls are created
    Application::EnableVisualStyles();