Hello,

Yes, I am a new C++ student and yes I have tried looking for this topic already. I'm very interested to know if there is a way to create a text array that would produce random output akin to a magic 8 ball?

Here's what I want to do...

I would to create a program that combines user input with stored words or sentence fragments to produce a randomly generated excuse.

However, I'm not sure where to start with this.
How can I take the examples I have in parenthesis and make them random output? What do I need to do to accomplish this?

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

Yes you could use rand in time.h to create randomness and say if it is a range from a certain number produced by rand it would output one sentence then another if it equaled something else.

Can you explain in more more detail? Where can I find examples of this used in the manner you are describing?

I'm not really an expert with time.h it would probably be a good idea to read up on it. But the basics is that the function "rand" makes things random which is what a magic eight ball does theoretically then if you got a certain number you would make it cout your statement.

Thanks! I had a breakthrough a few hours ago and will try to update the latest version of my program sometime tomorrow. Now that I got the main points down. I may try to convert this into a text box type of format.

>you could use rand in time.h
rand is declared in stdlib.h, or for C++, cstdlib.

>Where can I find examples of this used in the manner you are describing?

#include <cstdlib>
#include <ctime>
#include <iostream>

// Trick for getting the number of
// items in an array of T using sizeof
template <typename T, int N>
char (&array(T(&)[N]))[N];

int main()
{
  const char *messages[] = {
    "I'm a little teapot",
    "This is a message",
    "If you can read this, you're too close",
    "Han shot first",
    "What are you looking at?"
  };

// Seed rand so that each run of the program is different