sort of a noob as i have been doing c++ for only a couple months now. my problem is that i am using a function to pass data from a file into an array then into a .out file. the function im using to read the data from the file is using a while loop. the data file consists of the name of a store, then the pattern of a product code then product name then product price repeated over and over for multiple products. the product name has embedded blanks which i try to read with getline but fail horribly. no compiler error just debug assertion failure. using vs. can provide more info if needed. dont think you need main or other functions.function code for reading data is as follows:

long readFile (string code[], string product[], double price[])
{
	string temp,
		   store;
	long   count;
	ifstream fin ("program5.txt");

getline(fin,store);
	count=0;
	fin>>temp;

while (!fin.eof())
	{
        code[count]=temp;
		getline(fin,product[count]);
		fin>>price[count];

count++;
        fin>>temp;
    }

fin.close();
	return count;
}

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

Here is how to code that loop. You can delete lines 8, 10 and 19

int count = 0;

while( getline(fin, product[count]) )
    count++;

ok that helps but i need more than just the product name. i need the product codes and prices to be put into arrays as well thus making 3 arrays.

I think it should be cin.getline...

I think it should be cin.getline...

tried it. first it wouldnt let me convert from string to char. also even if it did i think cin.getline would ask the user to input data which isnt what we want. it needs to be read from the data file.

There are two versions of getline() -- cin.getline() is for character arrays and getline(cin,...) if for std::strings.

You didn't say how the data file is formatted, so I just assumed it has all the information on one line because you said you wanted to use getline(). Post a few lines of the data file so that we can see how it should be read.