Hi again,

since my last thread I proceeded a bit and in the meanwhile took a closer look on Mode13h. I started programming some simple games like Snake etc, but I'm stuck on a specific function I couldn't discover yet:

I need a getch(); which aint actually waiting for the input itself or in other words, a function to simply return the value of the last pressed key.

Thanks in advance, ~

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

Unfortunately I aint able to edit this post since I posted when I was on another comp, so I'll ask again a bit more precisely:

I need a function that returns the int value of the last pressed key, no matter when it was pressed.

And to add another question: How can I make use of keys like the arrows keys or the f-keys under Dos, since when I try to print them I either get

0 xy

using cout or

(null)
xy

using printf, where xy is a decimal 9<xy<100, which -leaving out the 0/(null)- already is assigned to yet another key.

>I need a getch(); which aint actually waiting for the input itself or in other
>words, a function to simply return the value of the last pressed key.
Try using a combination of kbhit and getch. I'll assume that you have those on your implementation because you mentioned them.

>How can I make use of keys like the arrows keys or the f-keys under Dos
Searching is easy and lucrative, you should try it sometime.

Arite, should bring me on...
I didn't use kbhit yet though, since as far as I had been proceeding getch worked quite well.

Thank you.

And concerning searching... So far I've been searching -and finding- for like everything I needed to know here, brought me ahead amazingly. Just added that question there 'cause I had to do a new post in here anyway.

//Actually wanted to add another question here, but I think I just figured out a solution myself... O.o

/edit: