Hi Guys

I am a new member here and basically i have joined because i would like to learn some c++. I have no prior experience in any of these high level languages. I do have experience in turbo pascal but those of you who have used it know how primative it is.

Anyway....

If at all possible could you good people answer these questions for me.

Can c++ make programs that you can install onto a computer like you would software you buy from a shop. Basically does it allow you to make the installer setup stuff. Even if you program is very very basic.

Is there software that does this for you and you just paste your code into it and it makes the installer for you. In pascal the compiler just churns out an exe that when you double click on it runs the code in dos.

What the hell in gods name is visual studio.net and what can it do. There are so many programs that have the visual word at the beginning of them. e.g visual c++

and finally are there any advantages of using c++ over VB and vice versa.

thank you

i know this is alot of questions but if anyone can answer them it would be aprreciated.

Andy

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

I am a new student of Visual Studio and C++ languages. But, I have read enought to answer some of your questions.

The word "Visual" in Microsoft Visual Studio stands for the fact that you can use the visual styled graphical user interface to drag and drop items into your new program. Such items can be buttons, images, menus, search bars. After you graphically select the features you want to add, then the Visual software will generate the corresponding written code and will show you a visual "form" which is what your program will look like when it is done.

So, to make a simple console application you don't need Visual products. But, to make complex Windows graphical user interface programs you may need the Visual products to save hours of time and energy writing user interface code. :o