HI guys.
Im a student and studying c++ that and cmd and so far i stil havent figure out how to change my current dir while my program is running.

My program is that i want to make a test.txt file with a "my test file" inside it , in the drive c: directory

#include<stdio.h>
#include<stdlib.h>
void changedir()
{
//system("cd c:");  doesnt change my dir
//system("c: ");     doesnt change my dir

}
void main(){

//changedir();                                     //change dir that doesnt work.

system("echo my test file > test.txt");       //writes my test file inside the test.txt file.

//getche();
}

Recommended Answers

All 17 Replies

HI guys.
Im a student and studying c++ that and cmd and so far i stil havent figure out how to change my current dir while my program is running.

See _chdir() function

My program is that i want to make a test.txt file with a "my test file" inside it , in the drive c: directory

#include<stdio.h>
#include<stdlib.h>
void changedir()
{
//system("cd c:");  doesnt change my dir
//system("c: ");     doesnt change my dir

}
void main(){

//changedir();                                     //change dir that doesnt work.

system("echo my test file > test.txt");       //writes my test file inside the test.txt file.

//getche();
}

don't use the system() function for that. Just open a stream object and write to it.

FILE* fp = fopen("test.txt","w");
fprintf(fp,"my test file\n");
fclose(fp);

Your program does not have to be in the same directory where that file is located. You can also specify the full path to the file

FILE* fp = fopen("c:\\some directory\\test.txt","w");

FILE *fp=fopen("c:\\documents and settings\\test.txt","w");
How come i cant make file in Documents and Settings also in Program Files
But if ill just simple place
FILE *fp=fopen("c:\\test.txt","w");
it can write.

is my syntax correct in the document and settings??

BTW is there any tutortial about system("")? like i want to change dir open files using system("")