i'm an 2nd year IT student i'm having a hard time understanding functions can anyone please explain to me in layman's terms what are functions,kinds of functionsand i would really apprieciate it if you could give me some basic function oriented program in C

Recommended Answers

All 2 Replies

Not to be an asshole, but:

click here! :D

Too bad that doesn't work, but you can figure it out. Examples are abundant on the web.

Well, let me make it as brief note, but not too much information. All these should be researched on the web. There are plenty notes on these concepts on the we. But anyway.

A function can be thought of a group of statements which does a specific job for you. So for example, if you take remote control, the controller itself has many different functions in it. Each button on the remote does some specific job. But the whole device it self is called as a remote controller.

In the same way, functions are meant to designed or implemented to do some specific job. These can be function could call many other different functions to get their job done. You might also come cross a word “divide-conquer”. There are two different sort of function which you could come across user-defined function and library functions. The following is the prototype for an declaring a function in C

<return type> function_name( arguments )
{
     <statement 1>
     <statement 2>
     <statement 3>
}

Example:

const double Cal_Square( const double num )
{
      return ( num * num );
}

int main()
{
      printf( “%f”,  Cal_Square( 10.8 ) );
      return 0;
}

As you can see from the above example, Cal_square is function which is called in main to get the square for a given num. The function calculates the square and returns the results back to main and result is printed out.