Hi everyone!

I have just signed in at daniweb, I hope you can help me. I am new to perl and have the following problem to solve:
I have loads of files with 16 columns full of numbers. I need to
1. take column 6 and substract column 10, store the difference column in a new column
2. then delete all columns and just leave the first and this difference column in the file

I know this is very easy to do in any mathematical program or openofficeCalc but since I have to do it like for hundreds of file I really need a program that does this for me.

I would be really grateful if someone could help me.
many thanks,
uan

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

Dead easy in awk (Perl's baby sibling)
Assuming these are comma separated value files, awk -F, '{ print $1 "," $6-$10 }' file.txt

Hi there,

so, this is where i am:

(...)#opening the file with the 12 columns
unless (open(FH,$file)){ 
	print STDERR "Datei \"$prot\" konnte nicht geöffnet werden.";
	exit;
	}
#reading in evething separated by a space
$/=" ";
@filedata=<FH>;	
close FH;

#$input_record_separator set back to default to be able to chomp
$/="\n";
#the 1st column which i will need later
my @q=();
for(my $i=0; $i<= scalar @filedata; $i+=12){
	push @q, $filedata[$i];
	}
chomp (@q); 
# this does not work! why not??????????????????? i still have the newline at the end if each #number

#taking difference of 6th and 10th columns
my @diff=();
my $d=0;
for(my $i=0; $i<= (scalar @filedata)-12; $i+=12){
	  $d= $filedata[$i+5]-$filedata[$i+9];
	  push @diff, $d;
	  }
#print to file
$out="out.dat";
open(DAT, ">$out") or die "Error occured while writing .dat";

for(my $i=0; $i<= scalar @diff; $i++){
	print DAT $q[$i], " ", $diff[$i];
	}
close(DAT);

so, my question is: is there any easier method? And why is that chomping not working??

hi Salem,
thanks for you message. what is awk, how do i use it? so where do i have to type that command you wrote?
thanks,
uan

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Awk

> how do i use it?