Hey there,

I'm quite new to C# but have an extensive background in Java so I know all the basics and perhaps more. But I've found i'm struggling with C#'s answer to dynamic binding at runtime.

Whilst Java can take a namespace entry from an interface and turn it into a class instance it appears that C# can't? Perhaps I'm doing it wrong but I've looked into the System.Reflection namespace and nothing appears to work like Java does.

now in Java the Class is actually a Class of type Class. Meaning you can instaniate a class of this type which is derived from Object. C# doesn't have this but yet you can still query meta data on the class required.

Is there a way to get C# to construct an object of a class from an interface namespace?

Hope this makes sense, if not I can post more information.

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

Yes. You can walk through the classes/structs etc of an application and then create instances.

For example

Assembly a = null;
            AssemblyName n = new AssemblyName("mynamespace");
            a = Assembly.Load(n);
            Type[] ts = a.GetTypes();

foreach (Type t in ts)
            {

if (t.Name == "MyClass")
                {
                    newcmd = (MyClass)Activator.CreateInstance(t);

}
            }

Will go through your code and make an instance of "MyClass" theres probably a quicker way but I took that from some of my code I use to walk through and make instances of all things derrived from a specific class.

One question from that, whats newcmd?

Its an instance of my class so its defined as the base class.

hmm,so you can't pass a class into a method and cast it?

Eg

loadAllClasses(class T) {

//load through all DLL's...

create object of type T

return T