Hi!!! This is my first time to post here and I have a problem and I want your help.....
This is the case my teacher gave me a question to add 1 to 100 using while loop and its really confusing me... but here is my idea and I jsut want you to help me What I am missing.... Thanks

#include <stdio.h>
#include<conio.h>
#define p printf
main()
{clrscr();
int a,b,c;
while(a>=1)
{
b=a+c
a=b+c
c++;
}
p("\n The Answer is:")
   for(a>=0)
      p("%d",a);
getch();
return 0;
}

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

One for loop running from 1 to 100 should suffice.

Firstly, your variables a, b, and c are uninitialised: their value before entering the loop could be anything.

As to your loop, it doesn't really make sense.

You only need two variables. An index, that gets a value of 1 first time through the loop, 2 the second time, 3 the third time, etc. And a sum, which initially has a value of zero, and each time through the loop has the value of index added to it.

Try using descriptive variable names, and get rid of the "#define p printf" line. If you want to use printf, then type its name in full. Brevity is all well and good, but you've gone too far and have code which is not that easy for a mere mortal to understand, and therefore difficult to get right. You're lucky the code is small.

Oh: learn how to use code tags, so you code is laid out in a readable manner in your posts.

commented: All excellent tips +9

>#define p printf
This is an extremely bad idea. If your teacher taught it to you, slap him for me.

>clrscr();
This is a bad idea. Not only is it anti-social (by removing the output of other programs when run in a shared console), it unnecessarily destroys the portability of your code.

>while(a>=1)
First, a doesn't have a predictable value. Second, how are you expecting to count from 1 to 100 with that condition?

>for(a>=0) p("%d",a);
I can't begin to guess what you were thinking here.