Hi,

I am very new to visual basic 6.0 and I am trying to create a guessing game in visual basic where the computer generates three numbers and the player tries to guess what they are. I am now starting the basics and I have the GUI sorted out but the code is giving me a bit of problem. When the GUESS button is pressed the computer is supposed to generate a random 3 digit number and they must appear as ***. This is what i have so far and it does not work.

Private Sub cmdGuess_Click()
Me.Text2.Text = Int((upperbound - lowerbound + 1) * Rnd + lowerbound)

End Sub

The player must then try to guess the three numbers by using a number pad press a button to see if they have won.

Recommended Answers

All 17 Replies

Did you set upperbound and lowerbound to anything?

End Sub

Please be patient with me as i am a novice at this. No I did not set the upper or lower bounds to anything. Can you explain how to do this?

Here is some code that will hopefully point you in the direction you are trying to go:

dim upperbound as integer
dim lowerbound as integer

upperbound = 100
lowerbound = 10

End Sub

Thank you it worked somewhat but i have to solve some other problems. Can i get bact to you if more help is needed

Of course; I'd be happy to help whenever I can!

My numbers are being randomly generated by the computer but when i try to get my player to select 3 numbers one is being replaced by the other (in other words only one number is showing up) i know i need to do an if statement but cannot figure out how to code it. I know it needs to be something like this; if the player choses (for instance) 1 3 5 then store it and compare it to the randomly stored number. so should it be something like this?

if (num = 1) then
lbl.player.caption = 1

elseif (num = 2) then
lbl.player.caption = 2

I am choosing the numbers by a numbered key pad.

How do I code my keypad?

Hello,