Member Avatar for mgirl

Hi I'm quite new to writing programs in C language. I've been working hard on a program and my output isn't coming out as it should.
Problem is you're supposed to enter 7 numbers. The program should sort the numbers in 5 categories of ages. Then calculate the average. I only get 0's and garbage for the average.
Sorry as this is homework if it offends anyone, but I can't see what's wrong.
could anyone point me in the right direction?

#include<stdio.h>

int main ()
{ 
    int age, min, ret ,cent ,sum, invalid, total ,cptmin=0, cptret=0, cptcent=0,cptinvalid=0
     ,i=1;
    float avg;

for( i=1; i<=7; i++);
         printf("Enter the age of 7 people:", age);
         scanf("%d)", &age);
         i++;
         if( age>0 && age<19){
             min++;
             }
         else if (age>55 &&age<120){
             ret++;
             }
         else if (age>=100 && age<120){
             cent++;
             }   
         else if(age<1 && age >120){
             invalid++;
             }

total=min+ret+cent;
             avg= totale/i++;

printf("\n Number of under age people      :%d", cptmin);
         printf("\n Number of retirees              :%d", cptret);
         printf("\n Number of people over 100       :%d", cptcent);
         printf("\n Number of invalid entries       :%d" cptinvalide);
         printf("\n Average age                     :%d", avg);
         scanf("%.2f",&avg);

getch ();
         }

thank you for any ideas

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

You have not initialised min, ret, cent, or invalid, which means their starting values are undefined (ie can contain random junk). Then, in your loop, you increment them. You then add the resultant values to compute total .....

Starting with junk values and incrementing yields more junk. Adding junk values yields further junk