I have been programming in C for many years, but I have just started using GCC/Eclipse for a new project to develop a product using an embedded ARM processor. I have found a problem that hasn't existed in previous C compilers I have used:

I have created a define as follows:

#define SWS pRCC->CFGR, B2+B3, 2
#define ReadPeriph(Address, Bits, Shift) ((Address & (Bits)) >> Shift)

If in my code I insert two lines:

x8 = ReadPeriph(sRCC->CFGR, B2+B3, 2);
y8 = ReadPeriph(SWS);

I would expect both lines to compile correctly and give the same result. However, although the first line is OK, the compiler generates an errors on the second saying "Multiple markers at this line - 'ReadPeriph' undeclared (first use in this function)

Recommended Answers

All 13 Replies

Sorry, my previous post was incomplete. The full text follows:

I have been programming in C for many years, but I have just started using GCC/Eclipse for a new project to develop a new product using an embedded ARM processor. I have found a problem that hasn't existed in previous C compilers I have used:

y8 = ReadPeriph(SWS);

I would expect both lines to compile correctly and give the same result. However, although the first line is OK, the compiler generates an errors on the second saying "Multiple markers at this line - 'ReadPeriph' undeclared (first use in this function)
- macro "ReadPeriph" requires 3 arguments, but only 1 given"

It would appear, therefore, that the macro SWS has not been expanded before invoking the macro ReadPeriph().

I don't believe there is anything wrong with the logic, as this code would compile correctly with another compiler, so I believe it to be a function of GCC.

Can anyone explain the problem?

Regards
Alan Rouse

GCC is correct, your other compiler is not.

>Can anyone explain the problem?