Hi, I'm new to the C++ community hope you guys can give me some guidance.

The program I'm making is suppose to read information from a file called music.txt

Inside this file there is information about songs in the following format:

Bandname, Songname, Duration of the Song,

Here a partial extract of the file:
AC/DC,Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap,303,
Alison Moyet,All Cried Out,410,
Allan Browne Quintet,Cyclosporin,291,
The Angels,Take A Long Line,180,
Architecture In Helsinki,Maybe You Can Owe Me,242,

The code I've come up with so far should suggest that there is:
1. An array of 62 songs.
2. Struct for each song to organize all 3 pieces of information.

#include <cstdlib>
#include <iostream>
#include <fstream>
#include <cstring>
#include <string>
#include <cmath>

using namespace std;

struct songType
{
    string bandName;
    string songName;
    int duration;
};

songType songs[62];

int main()
{
    ifstream infile;
    infile.open ("music.txt");
    string line;

for (int counter = 0; counter < 62; counter++)
    {
        infile >> songs[counter].bandName = getline(infile, line, ',');
        infile >> songs[counter].songName = getline(infile, line, ',');
        infile >> songs[counter].duration = getline(infile, line, ',');
    }
    return 0;
}

Here is the problem, I get the following error:

Description Resource Path Location Type
C:/Users/Shuda/Desktop/C++/Eclipse/mingw/bin/../lib/gcc/mingw32/3.4.5/../../../../include/c++/3.4.5/bits/ios_base.h `std::ios_base& std::ios_base::operator=(const std::ios_base&)' is private Test 784 C/C++ Problem within this context.

This appears at:

infile >> songs[counter].bandName = getline(infile, line, ',');

Does anyone have any suggestions about what I'm doing wrong?

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

You are trying to assign the return value of getline to a type variable of type 'string'.