I am a new student in the area with very little programming experience. We are working with arrays in our vb.Net class and I am coompletely lost. Our program has to look up part numbers in order to improve customer service. The user has to enter the part number and brand and look up the corresponding Auto number. They get to choose from 3 brands which can be selected by radio button. We can either store the part numbers in a 2-dimensional array or in an array of a structure. We have to use the part number to lookuup and display the part number. can anyone provide any assistance as to where i should start?

Recommended Answers

All 16 Replies

Well, I guess the first part would be how to define an array. To define an array, you use parentheses when you define the array of a variable. For example, instead of Dim num as Integer, to define an array of integers, you use Dim num(9) as Integer. This will work for any type of variable or class. The value within the parentheses is largest index value of the array. In the example I gave, the max index is 9, which means you can store 10 values in the array because the index starts at 0.

Next you need to be able to store a value in the array. To do this, you simple type out the array name, put in the index where you want to store the value, and then store a value it is as you normally would. For example, num(2) = 5 will store 5 in the array at the places where the index is 2.

Lastly, to retrieve a value, simply refer to the array with the index of the value you want. For example, test = num(2) will store the number 5 in the variable test since 5 is in num(2).

A helpful feature in arrays is that you can loop through arrays to check the values at each index:

For counter = 0 to Ubound(num())
  debug.print(num(counter))
Next

The above code will display the contents of the array in the debug window. The UBound() function returns the largest index of the array.