Hi all,

Ok, so I am new to C++ and whilst I understand most of the theory, I am still struggling with the practical applications! I'm trying to write a program that will allow a user to enter 10 whole numbers, then return the sum of all 10 numbers, the sum of the positive numbers and the sum of the negative. At the moment I have:

#include <iostream>
using namespace std;

int main()
{

int one, two, three, four, five, six, seven, eight, nine, ten;
  int count;

cout << "This program accepts 10 integer numbers, the returns\n";
  cout << "the sum of all positive numbers, the sum of all negative\n";
  cout << "numbers and the sum of all the numbers." << endl;

cout << "Enter 10 whole numbers, each followed by 'Enter': \n ";
  cin >> one >> two >> three >> four >> five >> six >> seven >> eight >> nine >> ten;
  cout << endl;

cout << "The sum of all 10 numbers = ";
  cout << one + two + three + four + five + six + seven + eight + nine + ten;
  cout << endl;

return 0;

}

Obviously the sum of negative and positive are missing. I know I need some kind of loop that will check if 'int one. . .ten' is positive or negative and add their values to two new totals, but I can't seem to figure out the structure.

Any help would be great. I'm not looking for the code, just someone to point me in the right direction.

Many thanks.

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

Its better if you have an array of 10 ints and then put down a for loop to check whether its positive or negative and add them up.

If you have variables like this., IT WILL TAKE A LONG TIME TO WRITE IF LOOPS. AND THEN ADD.

to check if its negative or positive.

you can use.

if(var<0)
{
cout<<"negative";
}
else
{
cout<<"POSITIVE";
}

Thanks!

Hi all,