I am working on a program that reads in a text file as a command line argument, then goes through the file, breaking the file down into strings, special symbols (such as .:!;?) and integers. The program stores each type into its own collection. I have all the collection methods and everything written, but am now writing the client to go through the file and break it apart into these three different types. I am not sure how to go about doing this. Should I be using fileName.next() to go through and compare the token to the various types?

I am not looking for the code, but for ideas of what I should be researching to figure this problem out. Thanks for any help in advance.

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

I haven't yet learned about the regex class. So would not even know where to begin with that. I am fairly new to java, only in my second course using it. My main issue is how to determine if the next character in the file is a string or integer or special symbol. If I can get that figured out, I can finish this program easily, and it is something I should know, but it is just evading my memory for the last week on how to do it.

My main issue is how to determine if the next character in the file is a string or integer or special symbol.

Thats exactly the reason why Ezzaral suggested using Regular Expressions.
If you would have simply googled for "Regular Expressions in Java" you would have found this excellent tutorial as your first search result (I say excellent cause even I got my Java Regex know how from there).