I have tried several things, but I just can't get this to work. What I need is a snippet which scans a program for value X, and then simply assigns a varible within the python script to the X value. I'm new to Python, but not to programming. Please be patient with me. Thanks in advance!

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

Explain what you mean by "scans a program". Do you mean communicate with a running program ? Or scan a text file?

By scanning a program, I mean that it should find a value stored at a certain adress in the RAM, if I've gotten this right. A common program that does this is the freeware "Cheat Engine" (http://www.cheatengine.org/)

This function can be used for many things; Debugging, Writing plugins, Logging etc.

I hope this made the problem more clear.

You can use module subprocess and Popen() to pass arguments to and from external programs.

Example please? : /

From what I understood, subprocess and POpen only lets you send an argument to a program, wich you can't do with the project I'm attempting.

Here is a general example you can adopt, let us know if it works for your case:

# using module subprocess to pass arguments to and from an
# external program

import subprocess

# put in the corresponding strings for
# "mycmd" --> external program name
# "myarg" --> arg for external program
# several args can be in the list ["mycmd", "myarg1", "myarg2"]
# might need to change bufsize
p = subprocess.Popen(["mycmd", "myarg"], bufsize=2048, shell=True,
    stdin=subprocess.PIPE, stdout=subprocess.PIPE, close_fds=True)

# allow external program to work
p.wait()

# read the result to a string
result_str = p.stdout.read()
commented: Good post, well commented, although not exactly what I was looking for ;) +2

No, this will apparantly not work. From what I see, the subprocess module lets you, say, send a ping command to Google.com via CMD.EXE. (I'm working with WIN32XP)