I need to write a program that finds the sum and average of 50 numbers.

I am very new to C++, I have learned VB and this is really confusing to me. Please help me with this simple program. I went to another forum and had no responses.

Kelly

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

eh the easiest solution would just be something like

int average()
{
     int number, total = 0, avg;
     for(int x = 1; x <= 50; x++ )
     {
           cout << "enter your " << x << "th number :";
           cin >> number;

total += number;
     }

avg = total / 50;
     return avg;
}

err...edit: you may want to make it so that it takes care of 1,2,3 otherwise you'll get 1th 2th 3th.

Thank you I just want to let anyone know that I actually didnt need this for school. I did want to know how this forum worked cause the last one just didnt respond. So I thank you for your input. Thank you Lucy I will save that and work on it to help with other programs.

Kelly

#include <iostream.h>
void main()

{
     int number, sum, total = 0, avg;
     for(int n = 1; n <= 50; n++ )
     {
           cout << "enter number " << n << endl;
           cin >> number;

total += number;
     }

sum = total;
     avg = total / 50;
     cout << "total " << sum << endl;
     cout << "average " << avg << endl;
}

u could just do it like that.

#include<iostream.h>
#inlcude<conio.h>

void main()
{

int number,sum=0,average;
clrscr();

// entering the data

for ( int i=0; i<50; i++)
{

cout<<" Please enter a number: ";
cin>>number;

sum=sum+number;
}

average=sum/50;

// displaying the results
cout<<" the sum is : "<<sum<<endl;

cout<<" the average is : "<<average<<endl;

getch();
}

that should approximately work. if u get some errors, i am sure u are able enough to correct them

#include<iostream.h>

// This is a nonstandard header. Please stop using it and instead use <iostream>.
#inlcude<conio.h>    // This is a nonstandard header. Please stop using it for sample code. (And try compiling to catch the typo.)