Hello Everyone,
I am a total beginner in UNIX/Shell script. I am in the process of creating a huge script for a spellchecker program. What it does is spellcheck files and throws output in a temporary file. What I need help in is forming a for loop where it will output each misspelled word, one at a time asking user to correct it or leave it misspelled. Now the corrections go to another temporary file and the words that are not corrected goes to another file. I need to use grep to find and sed to replace each occurence of the same word. I am stuck at this part for over 2 weeks ....Please please help if anyone can. I will really appreciate all or any suggestions. I will post what i have ...

filename1=file where output of spell is in
filename2= file where corrections are going
filename3=words not corrected are directed

for $word in `cat filename1`; do
echo $word
grep -n $word $filename1 | echo "incorrect $word"
echo "do you want to fix the incorrect word"
echo -n "c)orrect, m)ove"
read in
if [ "$in" = "c" -o "$in" = "correct" ] ; then
vi $filename1
sed "s/$word/$in/g" >> $filename2
elif [ "$in" = "m" -o "in" ="move" ] ; then
$word >> $filename3
fi

Thanks very much.

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

Hey there,

This question has been answered on this board a few times, but the first thing you should look at is how you're calling your variables and iterating through them. For instance:

for $word in `cat filename1`; do
echo $word

should be

for word in `cat filename1`; do
echo $word

with "word" being the variable and $word being the content of that variable.

Once you get past that, I'm slightly confused about filename1 - does it contain only incorrectly spelled words? If so, it might not be necessary to try to grep the words that you're pulling from it against it. They'll be there because you just read them from the file.

I may be missing something.... ?

Best wishes,

Mike

Thank you very much. I sure could use the way you suggested to start the for loop.