I created the first method, which gets and displays all the links in a web page in a listView when a button is pressed. I found the second method on a site that supposedly checks to see if a link is valid. I need help on incorporating it into my program. I would like that after it checks the link, that it will tell me if it is valid or not beside the link in my listView box. I'm still pretty new to C# and programming overall. I have read several things and tried changing somethings around, but no luck. Can somebody please give me some pointers on this and tell me if this will work on what I'm doing?

private void toolStripButtonLinks_Click(object sender, EventArgs e)
        {
            foreach (HtmlElement link in webBrowser1.Document.Links)
                listViewLinks.Items.Add(link.GetAttribute("HREF").ToString());
        }

private Boolean TestUrl(String url)
        {
            WebRequest req = null;
            WebResponse resp = null;
            try
            { // Create a request and get a response. If no exceptions were thrown, 
                // The link is good. 
                req = (WebRequest)WebRequest.Create(url);
                resp = req.GetResponse();
                return true;
            }
            catch (Exception e)
            {
                // An exception was thrown indicating a bad link. Check e for error. 
                return false;
            }
            finally
            {
                // Close the response object. 
                if (resp != null) resp.Close();
            }
        }

Recommended Answers

All 28 Replies

While having it in a separate function is best

Create a boolean variable, remove the returns and in their place, put the boolean variable = true or false accordingly.

Then move the whole block into the first and test the value of the boolean at the end as to wether it was true or false.

Ok. I tried doing what you said. I have changed it to this:

{

bool testLink;