Hey folks,
I'm a student and I have been using Blue J. I have found it rather primitive and was wondering what the majority of other java programmers like to use?

I thought about Net Beans but I honestly have no idea, So what do you use ?

Recommended Answers

All 15 Replies

Really your question has many different answers depending on the individual. Personally I prefer Eclipse, but NetBeans is very popular. I used to use jEdit and I always liked it, but it wasn't a true IDE, just a text editor with a few plugins for java development.

Honestly the two big names that come to my mind are :-

1. Eclipse
  2. Netbeans

Personally I prefer Eclipse, but NetBeans is a pretty good IDE too. But I would not recommend either if you are just near the beginner level, but if you are feeling too tied down in BlueJ may be its time to give either of the two a try.

I usually use Eclipse, but switch over to Netbeans when I do any sort of GUI.

Expand your world stephen84s, IntelliJ IDEA RULES!

Seriously now, I never used BlueJ, I did not become friend with Eclipse, but in my early days I used free version of JCreator, later on moved to NetBeans and since last year when I persuaded one of university teachers to get student licence I'm using IntelliJ IDEA.

If I may suggest, I will say go on with JCreator to learn basics and later try any of IntelliJ IDEA, NetBeans or Eclipse to find out which suites you best

PS: In responds to this post

I usually use Eclipse, but switch over to Netbeans when I do any sort of GUI.

To suggest using NetBeans as quick solution for GUI design is bad. If you do not know how to build GUI from scratch without GUI designer and drag&drop approach you know nothing