Hi guys,

I am a beginner to Java (I'm only a freshman in high school) and I'm working on a project which involves the need for me to be able to store 11 different strings as a text file. I have it storing the strings with multiple lines so I set a string newLine = System.getProperty("line.separator");

The part that is screwing up is this:

try {
            Writer outputStream = new BufferedWriter(new FileWriter(outputLocation + "\\" + outputFile));
            //print text to file
            outputStream.write(cloudOut1 + cloudOut2 + cloudOut3 + cloudOut4 + cloudOut5 + cloudOut6 + cloudOut7 + cloudOut8 + cloudOut9 + cloudOut10 + cloudOut11);
            }catch (Exception e) {
            JOptionPane.showMessageDialog (
            null,
            "Error in writing data!!\n\r" + e,
            "File Save Error",
            JOptionPane.ERROR_MESSAGE);
        }

Everywhere I've looked, I find sites saying that I should do it the way that's written above. I think that if I find out how to write a text file one line at a time, I might be able to make it work because I think that the newLine's are messing it up...

Thanks for your help,

~Ankush

P.S: If you need the code for everything that I'm using:

public static String cloudOut1, cloudOut2, cloudOut3, cloudOut4, cloudOut5, cloudOut6, cloudOut7, cloudOut8, cloudOut9, cloudOut10, cloudOut11;
    public static String newLine = System.getProperty("line.separator");
    public static File outputFile, outputLocation;
        try{
            outputLocation = saveLocation.getCurrentDirectory();
            outputFile = saveLocation.getSelectedFile();
        }catch (Exception e) {
        null,
        "Error in writing data!!\n\r"+e,
        "File Save Error",
        }

System.out.println(outputLocation);

try{
            cloudOut1 = "In order to " + promptA.A + ", I must " + promptB.B + "." + newLine;
            cloudOut2 = "In order to " + promptB.B + ", I must " + promptD.D + "." + newLine + newLine;