Hello,

Firstly I better warn you I'm quite new to C++ and to Linux so I'm sorry if my terminology/general understanding of how things work is a bit confused.

I've downloaded a code which is in C which is helpful for a course I'm doing on stellar structure, but I'd like to use it with C++. Everything translates just fine apart from the the definition of the maximum of a number as a "long long int". Apparently C++ doesn't support this form.

I use Linux (32 bit) and I'd like to be able to use that integer in my programme. Is there a library or particular compiler I can use so that I can have numbers like that in the programme, or is there a solution I can find without downloading anything? I currently use g++. My first thought was to turn the number into a double, as that stopped the errors appearing, but after a conversation with a more computer-literate friend, I've realised how ineffective that was (just to give you an idea of my level of understanding of these things).

If there's something I need to download, please could you send me a link, and ideally give me a bit of instruction as to exactly what I need to do with it once I've downloaded it, and what I'd need to include in the programme to use it (as I said, I'm very inexperienced with both the operating system and the programming language!)

Thanks!

Contributors
Replies
Views
8 Years
Discussion Span
Last Post by ArkM
Featured Replies

The problem here is that g++ knows that only 64 bit can effectively be handled at the processor level. So the authors/steering committee have decided that if long int (which is 8 bytes long) is insufficient then you should be using the gmp (gnu multiple precision library). Since this is … Read More

I thought most modern c and c++ compilers supported some form of 64-bit integers. Try just "long long" instead of "long long int".

Thanks for the reply. I've tried that, and it doesn't seem to help. I just get the error "integer constant is too large for "long" type.