Hi, as you can understand from the name, I am new in VB. So I have 2 questions regarding buttons:

1:
I have an array of buttons created like this in the code:

Dim buttons(10) As System.Windows.Forms.Button

I need whenever each one of these buttons is clicked to invoke the same method. Then I will go into the method, figure out which button was clicked and act accordingly. The reason I am doing this is because the length of the array will be created dynamically. So I don't know how many buttons there will be when the form loads, but I want when one of the buttons is clicked to call the same method

And 2:

I have written this code:

Dim button As System.Windows.Forms.Button = New System.Windows.Forms.Button()

Private Sub button_Click(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles button.Click

End Sub

And I get the error:

Handles clause requires a WithEvents variable defined in the containing type or one of its base types.

Then I change it to this:

Friend WithEvents button As System.Windows.Forms.Button

Private Sub button_Click(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles button.Click

End Sub

And when I run it I get a NullReferenceException

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

NullReferenceException

I think you used an button without new it. and you have to because it's reference type.
[out of topic]
someone professional in Java, the next step should be C# not VB.NET:)

,,,someone professional in Java, the next step should be C# not VB.NET:)

I couldn't agree more.

To answer your question, however: AddHandler :)

commented: I like his behavior in VB.NET forum +6
commented: Exactly what I was looking for +5

My friend I don't mean it's weak, I just concentrate on syntax similarities:)
And thanks for your great answer :)

Try this:
Double click on your button. This will take you to the code page showing the click event.