Hello, Can someone please tell me how to display an autonumber in a text box. I am using the ado control to connect to my database.

I am doing a small project for college in which i have to create a customer record and blah blah etc.

When i press the add new customer button i'd like it to display the new customer number. If i can't do this i'd like it to display (Autonumber) like Access does.

Any help would be appreciated.

I've only been programming visual basic for about a month.

I've done some C++ and Progress 4GL programming as well so i'm not a complete novice but i'm not brilliant at it.

I've included my source in a zip file if your interested.

Thanks.

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

I'm not 100% sure what you are doing, or what you want (I guess I don't understand autonumber) if you want me to write a function in VB for you, to generate a random number between such and such, that's no sweat. If it's something more complex, that's no problem either... but I need to understand the concept first.

I thought i was pretty clear, i'll try again. I have created a database.

The database creates a customer record.

When i press the add new button. I would like the program to display the next new customer number in the customer number text box.

I dont need to create a random number because i have set the database to use the autonumber setting in microsoft access. It just increments by 1 each time i add a new record.

The problem is that when i press add new, it just completely clears the form.