I plan to start learning shell scripting but I want to start with the one I can use. Is there anyway to find out which type and version of shell program XP uses?

Is it DOS, PowerShell?

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

go to start, run, type in cmd and press ok.
you'll get a black window with the version number and everything.

Thanks for the reply Comatose.

This is what I get: Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600] But this can't be the shell program, is it? I thought it was something like PowerShell or Dos or something. Or maybe I've got the whole concept wrong. Mybe shell programs are universal? I'm a total noobie so if you could give me a few details that would be helpful and appreciated.

Alright, let me give you the break down. Typically when people refer to shell scripting they refer to *nix only. You don't shell script in windows. In windows you can write a batch file... in windows you can write a "script", usually known as WSH (Windows Scripting Host), VBS (VBScript), or JScript (Microsoft's hacked up version of javascript). When people talk about "shell scripts" though, they are referring to scripts that work on a specific shell in unix / linux.

I guess some definitions are in order. The shell is an old term that pretty much means an interface for the users. In XP, it would be accurate to say that explorer.exe (not internet explorer, explorer.exe is the program that provides you with a start button and a desktop) /IS/ the graphical shell. I'm guessing this came about, because it protects the OS from you, and shields you from it.