Hi, new to the forum,

I am currently studying the basics of C++ and we have an assignment in which we have to code a Sudoku validator. Basically the validator will ask for a file to be input, it will read the file and the user will be able to input options: 1) check columns, 2) check rows and 3) check minigrids and of course a display option.

I've gotten the check rows and check mini grids right... or at least I think. However, I am really stuck on the minigrids part. I know the code I computed here is wrong. I have searched for assistance online, but always come to a deadend. Can someone just point how the logic behind it (as in the pseudocode [not the actual code]).

Also, another question here is that the program is also supposed to read some files where there are some char, and it will point out where the char is, I think I know the logic behind this, however, if I change all my grid variables to 'char', when I try to compare the columns and rows, it says that the rows and columns all match, when in reality they shouldn't...

EDIT: We can only use 2D arrays here, no pointers, queues, stacks, vectors, etc... (I don't know how to do it because we haven't learn them yet)

// Purpose of program
// Sudoku Validator: checks rows, columns and minigrids to ensure that each row, column
// and minigrid contains no duplicates
// Program written by
// Eric Cheung, 40745708

#include <cstdlib>
#include <iostream>
#include <fstream>
#include <string>

using namespace std;

void printMenu();
bool readGrid(string fName, int grid[9][9]); //function to load and read the input files
int displayGrid(int grid[][9]); //function to display grid
bool checkColumns (int grid[][9]); //function to check columns for duplicates
bool checkRow (int grid[][9]); //function to check rows for duplcates
bool checkMini (int grid[][9]); // function to check minigrids for duplicates

int main()
{

int grid[9][9];  //9X9 grid

string fName;  //file name
     char choice = '*';