hi im new to vb and i have just run into a mind boggleing prob i think i have tried just about everything to get this working but it just wont work

my question is when calling a function in my case Charge(nights)
i get a litte := after nights can anyone tell my why this is ??

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

It will help you if you post your code...

Function Charge(ByVal Nights As Integer) As Single
Dim NightsStayed As Integer
Dim cost As Single

If (NightsStayed <= 7) Then
Cost = NightsStayed * 155.0
Else

If (NightsStayed <= 14) Then
Cost = (7 * 155) + (NightsStayed - 7) * 133.0
Else
Cost = (7 * 155.0) + (7 * 133.0) + (NightsStayed - 14) * 120.0
End If
End If

End Function

I changed your code to

Function Charge(ByVal Nights As Integer) As Single
  'Dim NightsStayed As Integer
  Dim cost As Single

If (Nights <= 7) Then
    cost = CSng(Nights * 155.0)
  Else

If (Nights <= 14) Then
      cost = CSng((7 * 155) + (Nights - 7) * 133.0)
    Else
      cost = CSng((7 * 155.0) + (7 * 133.0) + (Nights - 14) * 120.0)
    End If
  End If

Return cost

End Function

That's how it should be, right?

I tested it with TextBox1.Text = Charge(8).ToString("0.00") and the result was 1218.00 which is correct.

Now, where/how do you exactly get that ":=" ? Do you get it in VB.NET IDE i.e. editor while you write code or at the run time?

i have no idea where it came from but whenever i call the function it wants to stick the := in and i didnt type it anywere but ill give your rewrite ago see if that fixes my prob

lol look its got me stumped where the funny little := came from or how i was getting it .... mabee it was in the way i was calling it or something?

this is what i got after the rewrite b4 it i just had the one

I don't see any problem neither in the way you call the function nor in the way you have declared the function parameter.