Good evening,
I am new to this website. And I am also new to Python. Actually I am currently in a Python class at school. I am having some difficulty with this Payroll Program. I was wondering if anyone could help. Here is my code:

def hours():
hours = input("How many hours did they work?: ")
return hours

def payrate():
payrate = input("How much is their payrate?: ")
return payrate

def calchours(pr, h):
if h > 40:
rh = 40
oh = h - 40
if h > 60:
print "Can't exceed 60 hours in a week!"
if h <= 0:
print "Can't work less than 1 hour a week!"
else:
rh = h
oh = 0

def main():
hrs = hours()
pyr = payrate()
calchours (pyr, hrs)

main()

What I am looking for is trying to get the message that pops up if someone works less than 1 hour a week. I have the greater than 60 hours working, but I can't get the less than 1 hour working. This is just the start of the program. I also am trying to get this to loop until anyone types DONE. Any help would be grateful.

(P.S. I would like to thank Vegaseat for his prior code).

(P.S.S. I know I have the tabbing correct. I just don't know how to paste it like actual code).

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

PLEASE use code tags; re-edit your above post. As you can see, your indentation gets lost without them, and it's essential for Python.

Shouldn't

if h <= 0:

be changed to

if h < 1:

Tell me if that changes your error message for less than 1 hour a week.

Good evening,
I am new to this website. And I am also new to Python. Actually I am currently in a Python class at school. I am having some difficulty with this Payroll Program. I was wondering if anyone could help. Here is my code:

def hours():
    return hours

def payrate():
    payrate = input("How much is their payrate?: ")
    return payrate

def calchours(pr, h):
    if h > 40:
        rh = 40
        oh = h - 40
        if h > 60:
            if h <= 0:
    else:
        rh = h
        oh = 0

def main():
    hrs = hours()
    pyr = payrate()
    calchours (pyr, hrs)