All questions involve this portion of a program:

if (y>x and y<z)or(y<x and y>z):
     print("You have entered Condition 1")
   elif not(x!=y and y!=z):
     print ("You have entered Condition 2")
   else:
     print ("You have entered Condition 3")

1. If x = 10 and y = 10, what is the value of z to get Condition 3? Explain why.

2. Explain how you would get condition 2?

3. Give an example (x,y,z) to give condition 3
answer in format: x= ... , y = ..., z = ...

Can someone please help me with these 3 questions, this is a homework assignment I got from my computer science class. I'm finding it a bit complicated and will really appreciate it if anyone can answer these for me.

BTW I am a python beginner so please take it easy on me.

Thanks in Advance.

Recommended Answers

All 14 Replies

1.Try writing it out on a peice of paper. The first question is easy if you run through what number you would need.
2.any python book will tell you what != means, and 'if not' is self explanatory.
3. will take some thinking about, but after you get the hang of the first two shouldn't be too difficult.

Do what breatheasier said and come back with more specific questions. It would do you no good to have one of us answer theses questions. You'll just get behind as your class moves on.

If you really try hard on this and still can't get anywhere, I suggest you speak with you instructor. They will help you get on track.

What the hell? This is basic math. You fail.

commented: thanks for stating what needed to be said about this guy's math skills :D +2
commented: That's not very nice, but very very true :) +15

To start with, what do these mean and what is the order of their evaluation? Post your answer here if you want some help.

if (y>x and y<z)or(y<x and y>z):
   elif not(x!=y and y!=z):