Let me start out by saying I've been playing with Python for a few weeks now, was recommended by a friend who uses Perl, and it's been quite enjoyable to play with. I've no other programming experience except HTML/CSS. This site has been a wealth of information and an excellent tool in my quest for knowledge.

I've been baffled for awhile on this now and I've searched all the way to page 63 to see if this has been asked before, needless to say, I couldn't find a clear answer to my problem.

To clear things up a bit, I had a problem with random only running once within the program so I had to added the 'global' so it would run every time the program was run. Something tells me this made things more complicated than it needed to be.

Either way, my issue is that I can not figure out a way to make my 'hp' count down as I continue to 'attack'. I add the 'hp = 100' within the 'def' for attacking and it always tells me that it is not defined when clearly it is. So that led me to add it outside of the 'def' for the attack, but then that leads the program to keep resetting the 'hp' back to 100 every time it is run. This makes for some long battles obviously.

The following program does not include any attempts at the 'hp' ticking down, just a working attack system.

import random, textwrap

cho = '\t1.Attack'

att = 'You attack!'

hp = 100

def ran_ran():
    global ran
    ran = random.randrange(10)

def crt_ran():
    global cran
    cran = random.randrange(10)

def dth_ran():
    global deth
    deth = random.randrange(10)

def bat_sta():
    print cho
    des = int(raw_input(' \tPick! '))
    if des == 1:
        des = att
        print textwrap.fill(des)
        ran_ran()
        crt_ran()
        dth_ran()
        if (ran == cran and
            cran == deth):
            print 'You killed it!'
            bat_sta()              #Added to make programming checking easy.
        if (ran == cran and
            ran > 0):