I'm new to C++, and I have a function, char* parse( char* buf, char* find_this ) which finds an instance of find_this inside of buf . Once it finds that, it looks ahead in the buf text, (which is actually JSON formatted) finds the value in the text, and it returns a pointer to a char array (created with new ) of that value.

When called once, it works fine. But when I call it multiple times, I get strange errors, usually a bus error but sometimes more lengthy ones. I think it's the way I'm using my types...anyone have any suggestions? Thanks

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

Can we see the function? Remember to use code tags.

alright, sorry it's a bit messy

const char * sf_extract_key( const char * buf, const char * find_this )
{
	int x, b, found_value_length, buf_length = 0;
	char found_key[MAX_KEYNAME_CHARLENGTH];
	char delim;
	char* found_value;

while ( buf[buf_length] != '\0' ) buf_length++;

for ( int i=0; i < buf_length; i++ )
	{

if ( buf[i] == '"' && buf[i-1] != '\\')
		{
			i++; // move past starting "
			for ( b=0; b<MAX_KEYNAME_CHARLENGTH && buf[b+i] != '"' || buf[(b+i)-1] == '\\'; b++ )
				found_key[b] = buf[b+i];
			found_key[b] = '\0';

if ( strcmp(find_this, found_key) == 0 )
			{

i=b+i+1; // move past ending "
				if ( buf[i] == ':' && buf[i+1] != '{' && buf[i+1] != '[') // no bracket support.
				{		
					i++; //move past :

if (! isdigit( buf[i]) )
					{
						i++;
						delim = '\"';
					}
						else delim=',';

for ( found_value_length=0; buf[i+found_value_length] != delim || buf[(i+found_value_length)-1] == '\\'; found_value_length++ );
					found_value = new char[found_value_length+1];

for ( x=0; x < found_value_length; x++ )
							found_value[x]=buf[i+x];
						found_value[x]='\0';

if (verbose) cout << "PARSER: parsed " << found_key <<
						" which has value "<< found_value <<endl;

return found_value;
					i=i+x;
				}
			}
			else
				i=i+b;
		}
	}
	return 0;
}

and I'm calling it like this: