Can anyone reccomend any good C++ books (available on amazon preferably). Im not a total newb (I know java, php and vb.net), i just dont know that particular language that well.

A book which covers data structures and concepts too would be beneficial, as im on a comp/sci course atm, and i want to get a head start on next years stuff.

MosaicFuneral commented:   +0

Recommended Answers

All 14 Replies

I learned C++ 5 years ago from Accelerated C++ by Koenig and Moo. It's pretty good, and gets you introduced to the language relatively quickly (it's not a really thick book).

Well, some mod you are! Don't you see the sticky thread at the top about books? :icon_razz:

A good many of the first shown when you search Amazon look like good prospects, like #4 - C++ for Dummies.

#8 - Starting out with C++, Gaddis is the one I use in my classes. Pretty well written, generally good examples (except I hate his bubble sort example), no major goofs.

ps. It also makes a great doorstop, as most of my students will attest.

commented: ROFLMAO - perfect, just perfect +29

Best C++ book I've ever used: C++ Programming: From problem analysis to problem design... by Malik.

Latest Edition

Best C++ book I've ever used: C++ Programming: From problem analysis to problem design... by Malik.

That's a good one as well. We used to use that, even before it went into commercial publication.

Well, some mod you are! Don't you see the sticky thread at the top about books

I wanted user opinions and views.

I dont like the style of the "for dummies" books at all.

Accelerated C++ has good reviews, ive heard it mentioned before too. I think im gonna see if i can loan it from the libary.

"Starting Out with C++: From Control Structures through Objects" seems right up my alley in terms of content. Thanks for the reccomendation, vmanes. Its rather expensive though, from amazon uk, (most computer books are 15-25 pounds, this is like 45)