Hi guys,

I've been developing basic websites for the past 2 years. Recently, a relative of mine had started a vehicle leasing company and has asked me to create the website for him.

Now the majority of the site will be no problem to create however, as it is vehicle leasing company new data (including) images will need to be uploaded on a regular basis.

I've been thinking about achieving this in number of ways:

1. Using Microsoft Access
2. Using MySQL

As you guys probably have a lot of experience, i would like to know what would be the best way about creating the functionality to upload new vehicle data i.e. price, engine size, colour and image??

Thanks in advance.

Recommended Answers

All 14 Replies

My general rule of thumb is this: if the database is going to be used on a single workstation or a local network and by a relatively few number of people, then use MS Access, but if the database needs to be accessible from a website, then use MySQL.

The reason I use MySQL for websites is because it is a lot easier to connect to MySQL via php. However, I use MS Access for single workstations and for local networks because it is a lot faster to create a database in MS Access. If you use MySQL with php, then in addition to writing out each SQL statement, you will need to spend time designing your form and coding it to display data, etc. MS Access automates that process a lot, but only if you run the database from MS Access (if you connect to a MS Access database via php, you will again have to design each form and code the forms to display data).

Hi Timothy,

Originally i thought Access would be the best choice as the system will one be updated by one person.

After reading a number of tutorials on the web i downloaded a project from www.programming.top54u.com. A link to the project can be found here:

http://programming.top54u.com/file.axd?file=AccessImage.rar