Hi Everyone. I'm pretty new to C++ and C, but I have experience with other languages (not OOP). I'm working on a project that requires me to take a working source code in C++ and convert it run in C. Luckily the inheritance diagram isn't too bad, so theoretically, I should be able to trace the dependencies through the objects and class structures to make it do what I want. Originally, it was much more sophisticated than what I need, so I only need a few parts of it. Is there an easy/fast way to convert C++ with class structure, etc to C?

Another twist to this problem is that the working C++ code uses functions that have only prototypes and are called in main(), but do have definitions. The definitions are proprietary to another company, so they just attached a library file. As I understand it, library files contain functions and other often called routines that have already been compiled to machine code. However, when you define a member function in a class, you use the :: operator to let the compiler know which class a function belongs to. If the functions have already been compiled, can I still call those functions from my C code without the classes that they were once a member of? Sorry for the wordy question. I’d appreciate any input someone could give me. Thanks.

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

>>Is there an easy/fast way to convert C++ with class structure, etc to C?

No. First convert the class to a structure and remove all its methods as well as access rights (public, protected, private). If it has base class(s) you will have to remove them too.
Next, convert class methods into normal functions and add a structure pointer as one of the function parameters (most likely make it the first argument).

>>The definitions are proprietary to another company
If the library has C style linkage then you probably won't have to do much other than use the library(s) as-is.