Hello there guys,

I'm new to C++ and i've got something to ask. I want to create several classes at different .cpp files. But i want to create objects from some of classes at other classes. let me explain it with an example:

Main.cpp
ClassA.cpp
ClassB.cpp

These are my cpp files. I want to create an object of ClassA at ClassB. Then i want to create them at my main.cpp file and use their functions. I think i need to create a header file, which i cant really seem to be succesful at, to acomplish this but i'm not sure what i really have to do :( If it is done by creating header file, how should it be ?

My other question is, i need a queue class to satisfy my queue needs but i want to allocate queue's space with the number i read from a file. There are queue examples that uses queue library but i cant find any property to make it dynamic. Is it possible to use that library and makke it dynamic at the same time ?

Thanks for your time :)

Recommended Answers

All 13 Replies

If your whole class, including all your class' function declarations looks like this:

class A {
int n;
public:
  A::A(int num);
  void disp_num();
};

A::A(int num) {
    n = num;
}

void disp_num() {
    std::cout << "n = " << n << std::endl;
}

Then you'll have to put the following in the header file:

class A {
int n;
public:
  A::A(int num);
  void disp_num();
};

Edit:: As you classes are spread amongst multiple files, don't forget to compile them all together :)

Tux, you should also tell him to place the conditional compilation preprocesor directive so that his files are not included more than once:

#ifdef MYHEADER_H
#define MYHEADER_H
//content of the files
#endif

This will make sure that this header file will be included only once even if you issue two #include directive.

commented: Right, I forgot :P +5