Alright well I decided I wanted to widen my learning a bit with java and decided I was going to write a program that had to do with networking side of things.

It took me a little bit of time to come up with something, so I asked my friend and he had an idea for what I should do. That being said, I have a few questions. I'll begin by stating what I want to do and then ask the questions.

The tutorial I have read up on is located at:

http://java.sun.com/javase/6/docs/technotes/guides/net/proxies.html

Seems pretty straight forward, which is why I have chosen it.

My friend has a site where he is testing who connects to his site, downloads which files, and at specific times. So he asked if I would write something to help him test it. I agreed as it should be a pretty good learning experience. I have little knowledge on proxies, from what I understand they allow a person to temporarily use another ip address which is what he is looking for. So from what my friend told me, I'm wanting to do the following...

I'm wanting to:

• URL = textfield1.getText();
  • Open a ProxyList.txt
  • Check for Proxy type and whether its a good or bad proxy
  • If proxy is good, add to an array (so it can be written to a new file later)
  • Change proxy if proxy can't connect after 2 attempts
  • Change proxy if download was successful and download file again from a new proxy till proxyList.txt is empty (about 50 proxies)
  • Use javascript to automatically click download button

Extra options:

• URL = multiple URLs at a time (perhaps through a list, text file, or arraylist)
  • Different proxy per download
  • Use an int to count unsuccessful attempts
  • Use an int to count successful attempts

A lot of it is covered in the tutorial that I have read, but I'm still looking for advice on how you might go about completing what I'm wanting to do.

* Thus far, I have created a Proxy class that extends ProxySelector (very much like the one in the tutorial/example)