Hello all I have been a hobbiest programmer for quite some time now and recently got back into it. I'm starting with a pretty simple program that will track inventory for my moms buisness. I've worked through most the common problems but can't seem to figure out why im getting extra spaces when displaying my list. I have been tempted to believe its because of the \n being carried along, but cannot prove it to myself by common debugging. Here is the code.

#display contents of the inventory file
def display():
    tmpc = 0
    counter = 0
    contents = []
    temp = []
    #open inventory and add contents to contents list
    newfile = open("inventory.txt", "rt")
    for item in newfile:
        contents.append(item)
    newfile.close()
    #open counter file and update counter variable
    cfile = open("counter.txt", "rt")
    counter = cfile.read()
    cfile.close()
    counter = int(counter)
    if counter == 0:
        return print("list empty")
    else:
    #check counter and length of contents to confirm
    #there is data in the inventory file
    #display a numbered list by combinding the counter file
    #and inventory file information
        if not counter > len(contents) and not counter < 0:
            while tmpc < counter:
                print(repr(tmpc) + "." + contents[tmpc])
                tmpc = tmpc + 1
        else:
            return print("Error inventory and counter files do not match.")

Then I simply call the function from a menu within the actual program. Thanks an can't wait to get some replies. :)

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

#open inventory and add contents to contents list
    newfile = open("inventory.txt", "rt")
    for item in newfile:
        ## Use strip here to remove the newlines that you're reading in
        contents.append(item.strip())
    newfile.close()