I just started learning Python a couple days ago, and my main goal for now is a text-based game, in which the user inputs commands to interact with the virtual world. My problem thus far, however, has been splitting a string up so that I can detect what action the player wants to take, and what the target of that action is. (for example, in my source code below, the user first types an action, punch or kick, then its target, Bob or Alice) In one of the Basic Python tutorials on python.about.com, it mentioned string indexing, where you can call one character out of a string by treating it like a list. The code from the tutorial:

cat = 'dog' 
print cat[0] 
print cat[1] 
print cat[2] 

output: 
d 
o 
g

So I utilized this technique to detect the actions and targets within the command strings from the user. But my main question is: is this the best way of doing it? If you look in my source code, you'll see that it relies on literal values to look for the words in the string. It fails if there is any whitespace in the string, and while this really is the only problem I can forsee (no player should expect to get away with adding more characters in the command, I think), it still irks me to have to rely on those literal values.

Therefore I ask you: is there a better way of doing this, without relying on those hard-coded values?

(sorry I'm so verbose)

# text_adventure_si.py
# testing a method of detecting text commands
#                with string indexing methods

print "Bob and Alice stand in front of you."
print "You can either punch or kick them."
print "Type help for command help and quit to exit."

action = ""

while action.lower() != "quit":
    act_in = raw_input("> ")
    action = act_in.lower()
    if action[0:6] == "punch ":
        if action[6:9] == "bob":
            print "You punch Bob."
        elif action[6:11] == "alice":
            print "You punch Alice."
        else:
            print "You did something wrong."
    elif action[0:5] == "kick ":