Hello, the first question is, how do iknow if the SQLEXPRESS server that in my machine is work well? i have sqlExpress and i also have the sql studio management, i am creating database and tables and all works fine. but when im tryin to call to a database from visual studio the connection failed. (only with sql, with odbc, oledb with access files i get the connection).
the second question, If im writting some winform app and use the connection string Data Source=My server name (for example), How the app will work on some other machine? cause the server name is diffrent no? (i know its sound a little weired but im new in C# development and Databases {Still student}).

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

1) How are you trying to connect to the SQL Server inside of Visual Studio? You should be using a SQL Native connection

2) You need to create a "SQL Connection Form" in your application that lists the SQL Server and Databases and lets a user select where they want to connect. This is a little technical but you need it for flexibility.

1) How are you trying to connect to the SQL Server inside of Visual Studio? You should be using a SQL Native connection

2) You need to create a "SQL Connection Form" in your application that lists the SQL Server and Databases and lets a user select where they want to connect. This is a little technical but you need it for flexibility.

1) im tryin to connect via the "Add new data connection" i choose the provider, and browse the MDF file when i click test connection its failed. i also try with website project to create the login system (wich create database automaticlly and its failed) somehow he can make connection to sql database, even if im tryin to make in VS "add new item" and choose "Data base file" before making any connection he cant let me and close the request.