Using an example will help.
For instance let a = 6 and b = 13.

a = a + b
Now a = 19 and b is unchanged at 13.

b - a - b or b = 19 - 13
Now a = 19 (unchanged) and b = 6.

a = a - b or a = 19 - 6
Now a = 13 and b = 6. The values are swapped.

For pure functionality, I don't recommend this method because it only works with summable values. Swapping using a temporary variable works in all cases.

>I don't recommend this method because it only works with summable values.
Not to mention that you also risk integer overflow and undefined behavior.

I don't think so. the result will be the fllowigs:
a=b;
b=0;
I am a beginner:) please give me some advice

actually it does work

assume a = 3 and b = 7

a = a + b

a = 10
b = 7

b = a - b
a = 10
b = 3

a = a - b
a = 7
b = 3

however from the responses this doesnt seem to be a very safe way of handling things.

The most efficient way for swapping whole numbers is

int a = 10;
int b = 15;

a ^= b;
b ^= a;
a ^= b;

y because xor is an assembly level instruction and its much faster than any move operation.

>The most efficient way for swapping whole numbers is <snip xor swap>
>because xor is an assembly level instruction and its much faster than any move operation.
An empirical test disproves your claim. The swap using a temporary is noticeably faster on at least one compiler (Microsoft C++) given any optimization level.

#include <climits>
#include <ctime>
#include <iostream>

void swap_temp ( int& a, int& b )
{
  int temp = a;
  a = b;
  b = temp;
}

void swap_xor ( int& a, int& b )
{
  a ^= b;
  b ^= a;
  a ^= b;
}

int main()
{
  int a1 = 10, a2 = 20;
  int b1 = 10, b2 = 20;
  std::clock_t start;

std::cout<< a1 <<"\t"<< a2 <<'\n';
  std::cout<< b1 <<"\t"<< b2 <<'\n';

swap_temp ( a1, a2 );
  swap_temp ( b1, b2 );

std::cout<<"swap_temp: ";
  start = std::clock();
  for ( unsigned i = 0; i < UINT_MAX; i++ )
    swap_temp ( a1, a2 );
  std::cout<< static_cast<double> ( std::clock() ) - start / CLOCKS_PER_SEC <<'\n';