I have downloaded the free Borland compiler Bcc32 and am delighted with it. I also downloaded the turbo debugger. I have a lot of experience using a debugger from an integrated environment but the Borland download includes only the command line version of the compiler and I don'y know how to run the debugger. I think that all I need is a tiny example to get me started. (Maybe just the command line will do.) Can anyone come to my rescue?

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

If you compile a small application with debug info using BC55 you can then load it into TD32 and use that to step through the code line by line like you would a debugger in an IDE.
If there's no debugging info you'll get assembler code instead.

Thanks for your answer. I still haven't succeeded. I compiled and linked a program with "-v" on the command line. The program, named mgzn, runs. If I enter the line "TD32 mgzn" I get a black window and a frozen computer. If I enter "TD32" I get a screen which is familiar to me from my ancient Turbo C compiler. If I then load "mgzn" I get what looks like an assembly language program and, again, a frozen computer. Any suggestions? (Your note indicated no debugging info. Shouln't the "=v" take care of that?

Your computer doesn't freeze. The program is loaded in the debugger and waiting for you to take action through the debugger.

A little blurb from Borland:

4. Using TD.EXE in a Windows DOS box
------------------------------------
The TD.PIF file included with the BC45 installation insures the proper
settings for running the DOS based Turbo Debugger (TD.EXE) in a Windows
DOS box. If need be, you can create this .PIF file using Window's Pif
editor, and setting the following values:

Program Filename: TD.EXE
Window Title: Turbo Debugger for DOS
Video Memory: Text
Memory Requirements: 128 -1
EMS: 0 -1
XMS Memory 0 3096
Execution: Background & Exclusive enabled
( required for Dual Monitor debugging )

Close Window on Exit.

Advanced Options: