ok so i am a hs student learning some c++ and recently learned the fstream function and tried to make a load save type thing for a programm i am courently makeing. as far as i can tell the coding is correct but it isn't saveing or loading the file right, any help would be greatly appreaciated as i and my teacher cannot find the error. the code is as follows.

#pragma hdrstop
#pragma argsused
#include <condefs.h>
#include <iostream.h>
#include <conio.h>
#include <stdlib.h>
#include <string.h>
#include <fstream.h>
#include <stdio.h>

//---------------------------------------------------------------------------

void loadsave ();

int main(int argc, char **argv)
{
loadsave();

return 0;
}

void loadsave()
{
ofstream save;
ifstream load;
int choice;
int savedplayers;
char *savedgame = new char [100];
string convert;
char *filename = new char [50];
       load.open("savedplayers.dat");
       load >> savedplayers;
       load.close();
if (savedplayers >=1)
cout << "1: Load game" << endl;
cout << "2: Save game" << endl;
cin >> choice;
    if (choice == 1){
        for (int i = 1; i <= savedplayers; i++){
            convert += i;
            convert += ".dat";
            for (int j=0; j<=4; j++){
                filename[j] = convert[j];
            }
            load.open(filename);
            load >> savedgame;
            load.close();
            cout << i << ": " << savedgame << endl;

}
        cin >> choice;
        convert += choice;
        convert += ".dat";
        }
        cout << filename;
        load.open(filename);
        load >> savedgame;
        load.close();
        cout << endl << endl << endl << endl << savedgame << endl;
        getch();
        loadsave();
    }
    else if (choice == 2){
        cout << "Save game as:";
        cin >> savedgame;
        load.open("savedplayers.dat");
        load >> savedplayers;
        load.close();
        savedplayers++;
        save.open("savedplayers.dat");
        save << savedplayers;